Jason J. Gullickson

Jason J. Gullickson

The New Things

I’ve been struggling with a number of projects and I’m beginning to wonder if the problem is that I should be focusing on the new things .

Fox

Much of my work, my “ innovation ”, comes from studying old things and understanding what happened to them. Often there is unexplored potential in these old things, but for one reason or another those paths were not pursued.

So some of my projects are about pursuing those paths, and in the process I sometimes get lured by nostalgia (if that’s possible for things you’ve never done before?). It’s sometime easy to believe that maybe the old ways were just better and we could “fix” now by simply going back...

Yellow Monster

But you can’t go back, and I think that’s what hamstrings my efforts to realize projects that are mostly an effort to recreate the past.

Instead, where I should be focused is applying what I’ve learned from the study and practice of exploring these old things to create something new. Something that belongs in this world because it is born of this time, not revived from a past that no longer exists or an attempt to turn back the clock.

How this applies in practice will take some further analysis, but acknowledging the problem is the first step.

@jjg@theneuromantics.net