Jason J. Gullickson

Jason J. Gullickson

System76 Pangolin First Impression

I received my Pangolin from System76 about 24 hours ago. Here are my favorite things so far:

  • All the hardware works (if you've run Linux on a laptop before you can appreciate how cool this is)

  • The keyboard is good, probably the best laptop keyboard I've used

  • The trackpad is good enough that a mouse is not required

  • It is fast

  • It is stable

  • The installed Linux ( Pop! O/S ) works well and is good enough so far that I haven't replaced it

  • I didn't really want a numeric keypad, but having page-up/page-down, home, end, etc. w/o modifier keys is awesome

I wasn't sure how I'd feel about Pop! O/S because I generally don't care for Ubuntu and prefer a more slimmed-down distro. That said, I've been impressed with Pop! so far, especially the additional features to make the GUI more keyboard-oriented. So far I haven't found a reason to replace it which is saying a lot.

I'm planning to write a much more in-depth review of the machine soon, but right now I'm having too much fun using it to work on actual projects.