Jason J. Gullickson

Jason J. Gullickson

i(patch)TV

For me one of the biggest problems with Apple’s iPhone App approval process is that, in order to cope with my impatience, I have to find ways to distract myself.

This time around it’s awoken my continual desire to operate my own TV station.

I’ve had this dream for a long time.  The earliest inklings I can remember involve converting an abandoned TV repair shop into a studio and taping shows using PXL-2000 camcorders.  Since then the idea has stirred in my mind repeatedly, ever two years or so and each time it comes a little closer to fruition.

In this day and age you might wonder why I wouldn’t turn this ambition to producing a video podcast or some other sort of “ webisode “-based entertainment but while that make so much more sense, it lacks the romance of beaming your productions out into the world where they can be enjoyed by anyone with a simple, lowly television set in the comfort of their living room.

Before tonight, the last time the idea occurred to me was when the “official” date was set for the end of analog tv broadcast (the original date).  I thought it would be awesome to have an analog station up-and-running the day after the cut-off, on some popular broadcast channel, so that unsuspecting viewers who didn’t figure out the switch-over would just continue watching analog tv, but with my station on the other end.

Apparently I wasn’t the only one with this idea.

So tonight as I’m catching up on my Hack A Day RSS feed I come across a collection of articles about setting up your own tv station and since I haven’t heard back from Apple about Shufflito , I’m more inclined to dig into the tv station dream than to work through the new features I have planned for Shufflito 1.1.  Whether or not this will amount to any action is really up to Apple, since a three-day-weekend lies ahead and if I don’t hear something that redirects my attention I may just be strapping a yagi to the new treehouse…

…and if I do, I’ll be sure to post the frequency, Kenneth .