Jason J. Gullickson

Jason J. Gullickson

Thoughts on Preposterous 2.0

As bugs fall and new features are rolled out, I’m working out what’s left to be done before Preposterous 2.0 can be considered complete.  Personally, I want Preposterous 2.0 to be something I can replace my existing Wordpress blog with so with that in mind, here’s what I think needs to be done:

Delete support

Right now you can effectively delete a post by sending an empty email with the same title, but this doesn’t remove the post from the post index.  If I can make this happen, then Preposterous will have complete CRUD support.

Custom domains

Since I’ll be replacing the blog currently at http://www.gullicksonlaboratories.com I’ll need to sort out the best way to go about implementing custom domains. Since Preposterous generates static files this should be pretty straightforward, but there’s a few ways to do it and I’d like to see if I can automate the process so I can make it available to other users as well without having to manually manage configurations, etc.  It also brings up the issue of customizing things like the blog templates, etc. which I have ideas for but haven’t completely tested yet.

Comments

I’m not sure if comment support is going to be a requirement of Preposterous 2.0.  I know how I want to add support for comments, but I haven’t figured out exactly how to go about it yet.  I’m also not convinced that comments are necessary, and they certainly are not without consequences.  If I can get the implementation I have in mind working I might include it in 2.0 but I’m not going to hold back the release for it.

In addition to the things I need out of 2.0, there’s a number of things I’d like to include to make Preposterous better for all users, and especially for new ones:

  • Better documentation for users
  • Better notification emails
  • Better support for attachments (inline and otherwise)
  • Acknowledgements (give credit where credit is due)


I’m also looking for feedback and suggestions from existing or potential users.  If there’s something you’d like to see in Preposterous 2.0 or future releases, reach out to @preposterous_me or @jasonbot2000 on twitter or post an Issue to the Github repository .

- Jason