Jason J. Gullickson

Jason J. Gullickson

The wait is over!

After giving it a few weeks, I decided to spend some time today learning the Evernote API and writing something that could import my old Wordpress blog posts so I could start using Postach.io.

The results of this work can be found here: https://github.com/jjg/wp2evernote

It’s incredibly primitive, and if you follow me on Twitter you know that I’ve already run it once (you might want to disable auto-tweeting new posts while you run the script).  It’s incredibly buggy, and can have nasty side-effects if you don’t read the directions, but it was “good enough”, so I wanted to share it before it sat on the shelf waiting to become “good”.

A side-effect has been that I’ve learned some more Python tricks as well as enough of the Evernote API to be dangerous.  Since I’m leaning pretty heavily on Evernote these days this is a good thing, and I’m excited to find ways to leverage this newly acquired knowledge.

In the meantime I’ll be sorting out why 419 of my posts failed to migrate, and if I get them working, I’m sure you’ll hear about it…