Jason J. Gullickson

Jason J. Gullickson

Stepbot - Untethered!

Stepbot - Untethered!

With a little double-sided tape and a complete disregard for aesthetic beauty (and reasonable electrical insulation practices), Stepbot is able to move around as a self-contained unit! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L5ypEzL1I9o Obviously there is work to do in terms of getting the parts to fit inside the shell (or alternatively, enlarge the shell a bit) but the cool thing about reaching this stage is that I can spend some time focusing on the software side of the project, which tends to go faster for me. I’ve already begun to experiment with better motor control schemes and working on plans for a Python module to hide some of the complexity involved in driving the stepper motors. I’m also going to take another look at the runmyrobot.com source and see how hard it would be to get that running on Stepbot as well (once I add a camera of course).