Jason J. Gullickson

Jason J. Gullickson

Skyhole - A Pi-hole in the cloud

I used to run a great piece of software called Pi-hole at home on a Raspberry Pi, but the hardware wasn’t really up to the task, and since it provides an essential service (DNS), I took it down until I could throw better hardware at it.

I never got around to that, but a couple weeks ago I was messing-around with a public DNS server and wondered if I could do the same kind of DNS-based ad blocking using DNS alone?

Turns out I’m not the only person who thought of this, and in fact there’s already something called PyHole to automate the process.

The PyHole documentation (and linked post) do a good job of explaining the setup, so I won’t cover the same territory here, but I’ve included a references section below with links to other pages I used in the process.

If you’re interested in giving it a try, get in touch and I’ll share the server IP addresses with you.

References