Jason J. Gullickson

Jason J. Gullickson

My conversation with AT&T

Our DSL suddenly dropped from about 5Mbps to 175kbps.  I contacted AT&T via online chat, and after being told to restart the modem (and therefore the conversation) twice, I had a long conversation with one of their “agents”:

System

Welcome Mr. Jason Gullickson.

System

Connecting to server. Please wait…

System

Connection with server established.

System

Technical Support Topic: DSL High Speed Internet

System

Frank has joined this session!

System

Connected with Frank

Frank

Thank you for contacting AT&T Internet Support, my name is Frank(ak880s).I see that I am chatting with Mr. Jason Gullickson . Am I correct?

You

yes

Frank

I see that you provided XXXXXXXXXX as the number associated with your DSL/Dial account.Am I correct?

You

yes

Frank

How are you doing Mr. Gullickson?

You

ok

Frank

Thank you for confirming the details. How can I make you a very satisfied customer today?

You

I’m supposed to be getting betweeen 3mbps and 6mbps download but I’m only getting about 175kbps (or 1.28mbps according to speedtest.net)

You

I just talked to another one of your agents who told me to remove my router from the loop, so now I am jacked directly into the siemens speedstream modem via ethernet

Frank

I am sorry you are experiencing this issue and will be happy to assist you.

Frank

I appreciate your efforts.

You

so it looks like it’s not the router, since I’m getting the same numbers; what do we do next?

Frank

Mr. Gullickson, did you power cycle the modem?

You

yes

Frank

Mr. Gullickson, in order to assist you further, may I place you on hold for approximately two minutes while I check my resources.

You

ok, thanks for letting me know

Frank

Mr. Gullickson, please do not worry, I will do my best to resolve the issue.

You

thanks

Frank

Please let me know the speed that are you getting right now?

You

I’ll re-run the test

You

1.31 mbps

Frank

Sure, I also want to ensure that you performed the power cycle in the given sequence :-

Frank

Un-plug the power supply.

Un-plug the telephone cord from the modem.

Unplug the modem from all cables for 30 seconds.

Plug the telephone cord to the modem.

Turn on the modem.

Wait for the DSL light to become solid green.

You

yes, this is the sequence given to me by the previous agent

Frank

That’s great.

Frank

I believe there should be increase in the power cycle of the modem.

Frank

I mean in the speed.

Frank

I am sorry for my typo.

You

so are you saying you want me to cycle it again?

Frank

Nope, if you performed the power cycle in the given sequence then it is fine.

You

good :) what’s next?

Frank

Which Internet browser are you using? ( i.e. Internet Explorer, AT&T Yahoo browser, Firefox or Google Chrome etc)

You

Chrome at the moment (on OSX)

You

however my original tests didn’t involve a browser, I was reading SNMP data from the router’s WAN port, and now I’m reading it off the computers ethernet interface

Frank

Mr. Gullickson, are you using Mac Operating System?

You

yes

Frank

Mr. Gullickson, the slow speed issue is might be with the computer or browser settings.

Frank

I really apologize, we do not have expertise with the mac operating system, this issue is best resolved when working together with one of our support agents over a telephone line because it requires multiple troubleshooting steps. Please call us at 1-877-722-3755 We look forward to speaking with you to resolve this issue.

You

I’m certain it has nothing to do with the browser, I was experiencing this download cap using other file download software

System

Connected with Frank

You

I’m certain it has nothing to do with the browser, I was experiencing this download cap using other file download software

You

lost you for a second there Frank

Frank

Yes, we have appreciate your patience.

Frank

Yes, I am with you.

Frank

I am looking for your co-operation so that this issue can be resolve as soon as possible.

You

so yes, I don’t think this is a mac specific issue because I’ve noticed the same problem with Windows machines on this network as well

You

It seems like it started a week or so ago, like somehow my account started using a different, lower bandwidth plan

Frank

Please do not worry, we appreciate your business and time.

Frank

We want to resolve it with in time.

Frank

Please contact our voice support.

You

why can’t we continue troubleshooting here?

Frank

Mr. Gullickson, we need to perform further trouble shooting steps to resolve the issue and create the trouble ticket, I am documenting the case in such a manner that you do not have to repeat yourself.

Frank

Please refer the case number :- 226343876

You

You’re not answering my question Frank

Frank

Yes, we need to perform some troubleshooting steps ( browser optimize, LAN settings, DNS flush etc), you are using the MAC Operating System and we do not have expertise with the Mac.

Frank

Please contact our voice support, they will assist you further.

You

I have tried repeatedly to work with AT&T phone support with zero success. I am a programmer and a network engineer, I can find any setting, etc. you want to know about on the Mac

Frank

Yes, I appreciate your efforts. I apologize, the mac OS is not in our scope of support and I can not perform troubleshooting beyond the scope of my chat support limit.

You

How about I bring up a Windows XP machine, can we continue then?

Frank

Yes, we can continue but this will disconnect this chat session .

You

Actually it won’t, I’m all set

Frank

Mr. Gullickson, do you want to start a new chat session or contact our voice support?

You

No need to start a new session, I’m ready to troubleshoot on Windows XP

Frank

How did you change the computer?

You

I have an xp machine handy and plugged it into the modem, then connected the mac (with the chat session) to a second ethernet port

Frank

Mr. Gullickson, the speedstream modem has only one Ethernet port.

You

the second ethernet is on the Windows machine, not the modem

Frank

I understand that there are two computer sharing the single Ethernet port, am I correct?

You

not exactly (although I’m not sure how this is relevant to the troubleshooting task); the XP machine is plugged into the single ethernet port of the modem; the mac is plugged into a second ethernet port on the XP machine; the XP machine is bridging the connection to the Mac, but the XP machine is connected directly to the ethernet port of the modem

Frank

In this scenario, please contact our voice support, the issue is with the multiple computer sharing the same modem issue, it is one of the reason for getting the slow speed.

You

actually the performance tests were carried out with only one computer connected, I only brought the second machine online at your request for a Windows machine to troubleshoot

Frank

The benefit of the voice support is this we can restart the modem/computer as per the troubleshooting steps without loosing the voice session.

Frank

Yes, I can see that the Mac computer is connected directly with the modem.

You

I understand the value of that flexibility. However has anything been done to rule out a bottleneck between the modem and the internet? As several devices on my network have poor network performance it is unlikely that the problem is on one of these computers

Frank

Yes, I can understand that I appreciate your computer knowledge, I am here to assist you.

Frank

We value your time as well, we can resolve the issue or create the trouble ticket only after performing the all trouble shooting, we are not suppose the line test before the trouble shooting ( power cycle the modem, disconnecting the router or browser troubleshooting).

Frank

The slow speed issue is also may be due to the anti-virus applications or maleware, router or modem firewall.

Frank

Mr. Gullickson, the speed range of your High Speed Internet service is based on the distance between your home/office and our network location, as well as the condition of your line.

Frank

The actual speed achieved will vary due to factors such as Internet congestion and wiring inside your home/office. We need to perform various test to get the root cause of the issue correctly.

You

Very good, let’s perform some tests

Frank

Other reason are the temporary files and cookies of the Internet browser or any EMI device near the modem.

Frank

Sure, as you are using the two computer with the same modem, I appreciate if you contact our voice support. Everything is documented in my case.

Frank

It will be also best if you connect the windows XP computer with the modem and perform the power cycle.

You

This is the second time I’ve been asked to re-start the troubleshooting process with another agent. How about this, if you’re willing to test the line, and if that doesn’t provide any insight, I’ll attempt to contact AT&T voice support, deal?

Frank

Mr. Gullickson, I apologize, in this situation, it is not possible to run the speed test, I will not get the good and correct results.

Frank

I will be happy to chatting with you all day. We are here to resolve the issue.

You

That’s not the impression I’m getting Frank, if I understand correctly, the only option you’re providing me with is to end this conversation and attempt to contact voice support

Frank

Mr. Gullickson, I appreciate your patience, I would love to help you and we are here for the same.

Frank

However, we have some limitation over the chat support.

You

I believe we have arrived at an impasse; if you cannot (or are unwilling to) test the line I don’t think there is anything more we can do here.

Frank

We have some dedicated department for some specific technical issue like wireless, Mac or gaming console etc.

Frank

They are expertise on these stuffs.

You

As I said before I can attest that the issue has nothing to do with these individual devices, what I need is a network engineer or possibly a lineman.

You

I believe that the quickest way to resolve this issue is probably going to be to find another internet service provider

Frank

Yes, I understand that our voice agent will surely arrange the line technician for you if required.

Frank

Mr. Gullickson, you are valuable for us and you will be always valuable, we do not want to loose any of our member. I appreciate your patience again.

Frank

Is there any thing else I may assist you with today?

You

Based on this conversation I believe there is not.

Frank

It was nice chatting with you.

Frank

Thank you for choosing AT&T where we value your business. You will now be disconnected from this session. The chat window will remain open until you close it. For quick answers, make the new AT&T Yahoo! Help site your first stop. Visit http://support.att.com where you’ll find pages of product information to assist you. Again, thank you for choosing AT&T Yahoo! Chat Support.

Connected with a AT&T representative.

Session ID: 3112700