Jason J. Gullickson

Jason J. Gullickson

Mailserver Woes

Running an Internet mailserver isn’t what it used to be.

I found out today that Google is rejecting emails from Preposter.us.  Not flagging them as spam, flat-out rejecting them at the gate.

Through digging into this I learned a lot about all of the crazy contortions that email goes through today in order to make it from one keyboard to another screen.  It’s pretty wild, certainly a proper organism and I’d say that if intelligence is going to become an emergent phenomenon on the Internet, the seed crystal is going to be in the mail system.

Wonder and awe aside, I think I got to the bottom of the problem, an outdated reverse DNS record, but I fear that anyone who may have attempted to try out Preposter.us since the departure from Gmail may not be receiving notifications for their posts.  If this is you, please try again and if you continue to have trouble reach out on twitter to @jasonbot2000.

- Jason