Jason J. Gullickson

Jason J. Gullickson

Learning the hard way to accept the easy way

It’s a bit humbling to admit it, but I may have been wrong about my fierce resistance to third-party modules in Node.js.

I started working with Node.js before NPM, and before there were any third- party modules (that I was aware of).  Much of my excitement about the platform was based on the fact that you were starting from scratch, all the way down to the webserver itself.  This was exciting to me because most of my work on server-side code was, and still is, writing fast, stateless API’s.

My predisposition to avoid modules goes all the way back to my experience with C.  C was my first experience with a compiled language (I don’t think an assembler counts) and the thing that stood out to me was it’s simplicity.  The language was so small that you could memorize the whole thing (there are something like ~30 built-in functions?), but with that small set of tools you could build anything.

Programming in Node.js was a flashback to this feeling, the ability to build an entire server out of pure Javascript (and in my case, limiting it to The Good Parts ), and know every line of code that will run when a request is made.

However this was less exciting to the majority of developers who were used to working in environments like Java or Ruby on Rails which had a rich ecosystem of modules (“gems”) that could be drawn upon for almost any need that could arise.  So these developers quickly set about creating modules for Node.js that re-created the structures they were familiar with, notably the web framework Express, which made Node.js work like a typical MVC-style web application.

None of this interested me so I more or less ignored it.  Over the years I would occasionally draw upon a third-party module to do something that couldn’t be done natively in Javascript (modules which contained binary functionality that can’t be replicated in Javascript running inside of Node.js), but in each case I would read every line of the module’s source code to maintain an awareness of what code was running when requests were made to my servers.

I also ignored “convinience” libraries, modules that made Node.js work more like other environments.  I considered each as it came to my attention but for the most part they were either shortcuts to things that could be done directly in Javascript, or they introduced changes to the processing model which traded programmer convenience for runtime performance.  My position on this is that it’s better to learn how to speak to the machine once vs. forcing the machine to conform to the programmers predisposition on every incoming request.

It’s in this area where I’m learning I may have made a mistake.  In particular, there are two modules that I now believe are worth the added complexity of including them in a server project.

Underscore.js

I’ve heard Underscore.js referred to as “Javascript’s missing standard library”, and that statement alone is probably why I ignored it for years.  Going back to C, the standard library provides functions that already exist in Javascript, and in particular the extensions to Javascript that already exist in Node.js.  That said, looking at that claim from another perspective makes it less dubious.

Underscore is a “standard library” in the sense that it provides a standard way for developers to solve problems that commonly occur in Javascript programs.  It is essentially a way to short-circuit arguments on the best way to implement these common bits of code, as opposed to providing functionality that doesn’t exist in the basic language.

The difference may be subtle, but that change in perspective made it a lot easier for me to accept Underscore’s claim of being a standard, or otherwise necessary.

Moment.js

Time and computers don’t get along.  Dealing with time is hard in any language, but it seems particularly painful in Javascript.  This might be due to Javascript’s origin as something that runs on a computer in the same timezone as the user, but I think it’s more related to deficiencies in Javascript’s type system.  Regardless of the reason, Javascript support for working with time is really frustrating.

After years of fighting with this I’ve come to accept Moment.js as a solution to this problem.  Like Underscore.js, this is less about Moment.js’s ability to do things you can’t already do, or it’s performance, etc. and more about establishing a consensus between programmers on the way to handle these things.

Conclusion

I’m still extremely cautious about including third-party modules in my projects, and every day there are more and more poorly-implemented, unnecessary modules uploaded to NPM, but I’m working on getting comfortable with making exceptions for modules which are proven to reduce errors and increase developer productivity (specifically when collaborating) so long as they can be proven to have minimal impact on performance, reliability and security.