Jason J. Gullickson

Jason J. Gullickson

J-Head Take Two

A couple weeks ago I started noticing some black goo on some of my prints. Within a few days I found the cause, the resistor that provides the heat for my J-Head had gone critical and melted down.

I did a little reading on this and I have a few ideas on ways to improve on the design to avoid this in the future, but I’ve had such luck with the standard setup I ordered a replacement so I could get back to printing and then experiment with the old head on the side.

20130223-230444.jpg

One thing I’m doing different with the replacement is using “muffler putty” instead of aluminum foil to ensure a tight fit between the resistor and the body of the nozzle, since failure at this interface can lead to premature resistor death and may have played a role in the failure of my last nozzle.

20130223-230542.jpg

I wasn’t exactly sure what kind of putty to get, so I went with Blue Magic’s “QuickSteel” since it had the highest temperature limit of the options I had available (the others topped out a little too close to ABS temperatures for my taste).

I’m somewhat concerned about what it might take to remove a resistor secured in this fashion when it eventually fails, but I guess that’s what drills and Dremel’s are for right?