Jason J. Gullickson

Jason J. Gullickson

Holes in my Experience

It might not seem like it, but this was one of the things I was most worried about on today’s project.

For some reason I’ve been avoiding drilling holes in round steel.  I don’t know what got me paranoid about it but for some reason I’ve been freaked about doing it and thought it would be harder than it is.

Aside from finishing this step of the project, getting over it makes it possible for me to take steps in other projects that require the same task.  I may finally complete the second 3D printer I started a few years back.

This happens to me often, getting hung-up on the fear of failing at some basic task without really understanding why.  Most of the time the cost of failure is low, and when I eventually just try to do it, it works out, so I don’t know where this comes from.

I’m going to try to identify these hang-ups more deliberately and like today, drag them into an arena where the stakes are low so I can get over them, or have a real reason to avoid them.