Jason J. Gullickson

Jason J. Gullickson

Galternatives

Last night something Google did something particularly evil to my daughter (more on this later), so I’m looking for alternatives to the Google services we currently rely on:

  • Gmail

  • Google Docs/Drive

  • Google Calendar

  • YouTube

  • Google+

I think those are the big ones.  I’m sure there are other services that we use in a less direct way (Google Checkout comes to mind) but by eliminating the services above I think that related dependencies will go away as well or at least their use will be pushed into obscurity.

Of all of them the one that seems the trickiest to replace is Google Docs. There are of course hundreds (thousands?) of similar products but the ones I’ve worked with have limitations that make them fall short of GD for our use cases.  One thing that might replace GD for us (and in many ways surpass it’s capabilities) is iPython , but I need to play with that some more to see if it will do what we need and serve all the platforms we commonly use.