Jason J. Gullickson

Jason J. Gullickson

Dogfood

I knew the only way I’d be sure to continue to improve Preposterous was if I was forced to use it regularly, so I decided that on January 1st, 2014 I would switch Gullickson Laboratories from Wordpress to Preposterous 2.0 .

Of course Preposterous 2.0 isn’t ready yet, but I didn’t let that minor detail stop me from meeting my arbitrary goal of switching over the site.  I had also hoped to have something in place to handle incoming links to pages that no longer exist, but you can’t make an omelet without breaking a few eggs, right?

So, things are going to be a bit of a mess around here for awhile but what better motivation could I have to make Preposterous better than making my own blog count on it, right?  Over the next few weeks I’ll be bringing over the most popular posts from the old site but I didn’t want to simply import them…

Instead, I want to take time to “curate” the old posts.  Some will simply be re-posted as originally written but others will be annotated to provide context and framing so they can be seen in the light of their time (remember some of those posts go back to 2000, and some things have changed since then). Others, especially those that relate to specific technology may be updated so they can be useful with current versions of software, etc.

In addition I’ll continue to pursue the remaining work outlined for Preposterous 2.0 and beyond, with this blog being the key source of information about updates, releases and other information about the project.

Thank-you for your patience during this transition, it’s not the first, and it certainly won’t be the last.

- Jason