Jason J. Gullickson

Jason J. Gullickson

Crypton Part 2

I’ve managed to spend a little time working on Crypton.  I’ve created a Github repository (https://github.com/jjg/crypton) which at the moment consists of some slightly more detailed implementation notes and some experiments with openpgp.js.

Things are progressing even if there’s not a lot of code to show for it yet. I’ve been modeling the system in my mind and working through various workflows and came to a few conclusions that resulted in significant departures from my original design.

For example, I started by defaulting to implementing a REST API for the server-side of the system, but after realizing that the bulk of the system resides in client-side code, and that a communication system should be as “realtime” as possible, I’m leaning toward implementing a pure websockets interface to the server.

I used to have to write code and experiment with it to reach these kind of conclusions, but I’ve noticed over the last couple of years that I can do more and more of this in my head.  This is helpful because I don’t have a lot of time in front of the terminal to work on my independent projects, and it’s also faster than typing it all out by hand.

There’s still a long way to go, and I’m still working to round-up a small group of alpha testers, but I’m excited to work on the project, and I with any luck I’ll have something usable to experiment with before the end of the year.