Jason J. Gullickson

Jason J. Gullickson

Coming home

After years of wonderful service the future of posterous.com (my current blog host) is coming into question due to an acquisition by Twitter . In light of this I will finally be getting around to bringing my blog back in-house, here to Gullickson Laboratories.

This isn’t the first time I’ve hosted my own blog, in fact my first blog was hosted at jasongullickson.com, on blogging software I wrote myself before the widespread use of the word “blog” existed. Unfortunately little remains of that initial series of posts, but if I ever find them I’ll add them to the backlog here.

After the original Skylab fell (thanks to Charter Communications shutting down inbound traffic to port 80), I switched to hosting my sites elsewhere and at one point off-the-shelf blogging software was good enough that I stopped hosting that content myself. This lead to livejournal, blogger, Wordpress and eventually posterous.

Posterous was so easy that I was hooked after day one. Needless to say when I brought gullicksonlaboratories.com online I saw little reason to move the blog and happily kept it hosted abroad.

However the time has come, and having setup a self-hosted Wordpress site for several others I decided it was time to do the same for myself. Perhaps as i become more familiar with Wordpress I may expand the use of it to other aspects of gullicksonlaboratories.com, but only time will tell.

For now all future blog posts will be landing here, and I will be bringing over any interesting posts which currently reside elsewhere (as time allows).